Cedar Valley Catholic Schools Board of Education


The board is comprised of dedicated individuals who want the best educational experience for our students. Board members include a pastor, two laypersons and a representative director of religious education from each of our supporting parishes: Blessed Sacrament, Queen of Peace, Sacred Heart, St. Edward and St. Patrick. The CVCS chief administrator, business manager and the principal from each school are ad-hoc members. Board membership is voluntary.

The board typically meets the first Thursday of each month; sometimes there are special meetings and/or meetings scheduled at different times. Board meetings are held at Blessed Maria Assunta Pallotta Middle School in the art room (first floor). The room has easy access by the middle school gymnasium.

Visitors are welcome at the meetings. Guests requesting to address the board need to contact the CVCS Office at 319-232-1422 or Tanya Cutsforth tcutsforth@cvcatholic.org.  Guests will need to provide their name and topic for discussion to be added to the agenda.  Addressing the board will be limited to 2 minutes per guest.  There will be a 30 minute maximum time allowance per meeting.  The board will not respond and will take all comments under advisement.


Nine elected voting members include:

  • Parish Representation (5): One representative from each parish: Blessed Sacrament, Sacred Heart, Saint Edward, Saint Patrick (H.S. program only), and Queen of Peace.

  • Pastoral Representation (2): * Pastoral Coordinator * One (1) representative named by supporting parish pastors

  • Appointed Members (2): * Two (2) appointment representatives

Executive Board consists of: President, Vice President, Secretary, Pastoral Coordinator and the Chief Administrator.


Members are elected annually at Board’ s first meeting, which is held after July 1. Membership in the parish is required for membership on the Board. 

Terms of Membership
Members are elected to the Board by their respective parish for a term of three years.



5:30 Start Time

Blessed Maria Art Rm-Door #25

May 5th

June 2nd


2021-2022 CVCS BOARD

Mark Sinwell


Sacred Heart

Term 2, Year 3 of 3

circle 1.png

Greg Stammeyer

Blessed Sacrament

Term 1, Year 2 of 3


Fr. Scott Bullock

Pastoral Coordinator

Saint Edward


Fr. Tony Kruse

Pastoral Appointment

Blessed Sacrament


Al Schott

Saint Edward

Term 1, Year 3 of 3


Jeff Fitzpatrick

Queen of Peace

Term 2, Year 2 of 3


Bill Rhomberg

Saint Patrick

Term 2, Year 1 of 3

circle 1.png

Brian Holthaus

At Large Member

Blessed Sacrament

Term 1, Year 3 of 3

circle 1.png

Jake Schaefer

At Large Member

Saint Edward

Term 1, Year 2 of 3