Cedar Valley Catholic Schools’ mathematics instruction focuses on the Iowa Core Mathematics Standards. In kindergarten through eighth grade, the standards lay a solid foundation in whole numbers, addition, subtraction, multiplication, division, fractions, and decimals. Students at these grade levels are required to think and reason mathematically, developing a depth of understanding and the ability to apply mathematics to real-life situations and across the curriculum.

Communication, collaboration, critical thinking, and creativity, encouraging students to try new approaches to solve real-life problems are all major strands within each high school math course. Technology is embedded throughout the high school course work. Thus, our CVCS students are prepared to continue their education in college or enter the workforce immediately upon completion of high school.

Standards for Mathematical Practices
All kindergarten through twelfth grade math classes incorporate the standards for mathematical
practices into their learning experiences.

Elementary (Blessed Sacrament, Sacred Heart and Saint Edward)

Kindergarten Curriculum
First Grade Curriculum
Second Grade Curriculum
Third Grade Curriculum
Fourth Grade Curriculum
Fifth Grade Curriculum
Blessed Maria Assunta Pallotta Middle School
Sixth Grade Curriculum
Seventh Grade Curriculum
Eighth Grade Curriculum
Columbus Catholic High School
These standards are taught and assessed across the Columbus High School Mathematics courses.
High School Mathematics Standards Across Course Levels
Family Resources:
Parents' Guide to the Iowa Core


  • CVCS Facebook
  • CVCS Twitter
  • CVCS YouTube Channel
  • CVCS Instagram

Cedar Valley Catholic Schools                                                                                                                             
3231 West 9th Street

Waterloo, Iowa 50702

Phone: 319-232-1422

© 2018 by Cedar Valley Catholic Schools.​